coffee recipe: sweet layered latte

“Caffeine is my shepherd; I shall not doze.
It maketh me to wake in green pastures:
It leadeth me beyond the sleeping masses.
It restoreth my buzz:
It leadeth me in the paths of consciousness for its name’s sake.
Yea, though I walk through the valley of the shadow of addiction,
I will fear no Equal™:
For thou art with me; thy cream and thy sugar they comfort me.
Thou preparest a carafe before me in the presence of The Starbucks:
Thou anointest my day with pep; my mug runneth over.
Surely richness and taste shall follow me all the days of my life:
And I will dwell in the House of Mochas forever.” ~Author Unknown

 

ingredients:

  • milk – 10 oz.
  • orange-flavored syrup – 1 oz.
  • chocolate syrup – 1 1/2 oz.
  • hazelnut-flavored syrup – 1 oz.
  • hot, fresh espresso or strong coffee – 2-3 oz.
  • caramel syrup – garnish

instructions:

  1. Steam the milk in a saucepan with a flexible, loose wired whisk or hand-mixer, or with a steam wand from an espresso machine.
  2. In a cup, mix 3 oz. of the milk with the orange-flavored syrup, to produce orange foam.
  3. In a separate cup, mix 3 oz. of the milk with 1 oz. of the chocolate syrup and 1/2 oz. of the hazelnut flavored syrup, to produce tan colored foam.
  4. Into a clear, tall, tapered tempered 16 oz. glass:
    Layer 1:  Pour 1/2 oz. of the chocolate syrup
    Layer 2:  Pour 1/2 oz. of the hazelnut syrup
    Layer 3:  Very slowly pour or spoon 2 oz. of the plain steamed milk
    Layer 4:  Very slowly pour or spoon 3 oz. of the orange-colored milk
    Layer 5:  Very slowly pour or spoon 3 oz. of the tan-colored milk
    Layer 6:  Very slowly pour or spoon the remaining 2 oz. of the plain steamed milk
    Layer 7:  Very slowly pour the espresso down the center of the entire layered drink.

5.  Starting in the center, drizzle caramel syrup in a spiral motion on top.

Important: As you pour in the espresso, keep the drink still so the coffee will create buoyant, separated, colorful layers.

Leave a Reply

